What We Do

Setting the standards for educational excellence and independence in continuing medical education.  Since its founding in 1981, the ACCME has been committed to continuously improving the quality, integrity, and independence of continuing medical education (CME).  A nonprofit corporation based in Chicago, the ACCME is responsible for accrediting institutions that offer CME to physicians and other healthcare professionals. The ACCME’s mission is to identify, develop, and promote rigorous national standards for quality CME that improves physician performance and medical care for patients and their communities. The ACCME is supported solely by accredited provider fees and workshop registration fees.

ACCME Accreditation: A National Model

ACCME accreditation is a voluntary, self-regulatory system that assures the public and the medical community that accredited CME is a strategic partner in healthcare quality and safety initiatives, providing physicians with relevant, effective education that meets their learning and practice needs. Accreditation standards ensure that CME is designed to be independent, free of commercial bias, and based on valid content.

The ACCME accreditation system is recognized as a national model by federal and state government agencies, other healthcare accrediting bodies, and the profession of medicine.

National and International Collaboration

The ACCME has long-standing collaborative relationships with the other institutions that oversee national CME accreditation and credit systems, including the American Academy of Family Physicians , the American Medical Association , and the American Osteopathic Association.

The ACCME supports CME initiatives with government, health system, and CME representatives from a wide range of countries, including China, France, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Korea, New Zealand, Oman, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, the Sudan, and the United Arab Emirates.

The ACCME recognizes seven CME organizations as substantially equivalent to the ACCME’s accreditation system: the Committee on Accreditation of Continuing Medical Education (Canada), the Council on Optometric Practitioner Education, the European Board for Accreditation in Cardiology, the Oman Medical Specialty Board as part of the Ministry of Health of the Sultanate of Oman, the Qatar Council for Health Practitioners, the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, and the Federation of the German Chambers of Physicians.

Scope of Accredited CME

There are approximately 2,000 accredited organizations, known as CME providers, including medical schools; nonprofit physician membership organizations, such as medical specialty and state medical societies; hospitals/healthcare delivery systems; publishing and education companies; government and military organizations; and insurance and managed-care companies.

These CME providers include organizations accredited by the ACCME as well as those accredited by the 42 state and territory medical societies recognized as accreditors by the ACCME.  Each year accredited providers offer more than 138,000 activities educating more than 24 million learners including physicians and other healthcare professionals. (This number of learners represents aggregate participant totals and not the number of unique participants.  Participants attending multiple activities are counted multiple times.)

CME That Matters to Patient Care™

CME accredited within the ACCME system offers physicians and other healthcare practitioners access to the answers they need to improve public health and patient care. Whether physicians work in clinical care, research, healthcare administration, or other areas of medicine, accredited CME is tailored to their needs and their patients’ needs. From national conferences in big cities to grand rounds in rural hospitals to just-in-time learning at the patient's bedside, accredited CME supports public health.